All Will Be Well

Zuster Thomas

Jessica’s companion had a bad fall on black ice three weeks ago and has suffered with a concussion.   You probably can’t imagine a better nurse than “Abnegation Jessica”.  You have to read “Divergent” to know about abnegation.   🙂

Here is the link to Zuster Thomas’ blog if you want to read her perspective.  🙂     http://nikkigoesdutch.blogspot.com/

We enjoyed long letters this past week that Jess was able to write during their time indoors.   Here is an update from her email Monday Jan 12.

Zusters from Den Haag came and exchanged with us Wednesday! It was so fun–but I was terrified. Terrified! I had to lead the way in a city I [thought] barely knew and then teach two lessons to investigators that love Zr Thomas. And I would be with another greenie! She didn’t speak much in the lessons, which was fine, but yeah. I hadn’t even met Irene because she’s been on vacation. But, I taught Souad and her daughter Amira about Joseph Smith and prophets. Amira is 9 and also wants to learn English, so we made little index cards with the Dutch word on the front with a picture and then the Engels word on the back–it’s perfect for me! haha, I’m learning simple Dutch and teaching simple English:) I love Amira she is perfect. Souad is Muslim, though, and doesn’t trust me all the way yet; so i haven’t gotten a pic with them. Irene (Ee-ray-nuh) is very very sweet. I hadn’t met her before, but I went with the Lord and tried my best. I taught her the Gospel–Faith, Repentence, Bap., the gift of the HG, & enduring to the end. We didn’t get through all of them because I asked her about her vacation. She has a sort of Malaria, so she’s really sick. She was bit by a tiger mosquito while on her vacation in Curaso (how do you spell that?). Anyway, I invited her to be baptized and she said yes! We haven’t set a date, yet because we don’t know when she can come to church (you have to go 3 times to at least some part of Sunday service before baptism). But ah! I did it! I didn’t get lost and I spoke Dutch!

          Then, the Elders called, like right after the appointment with Irene, and asked if I wanted a blessing.  Man, they are inspired. I was so wired and so tired and so afraid for that day…I needed something, and when they asked, I felt the Spirit say “get one” so I did. We met them at the church and Elder Carter gave me a blessing. 
The only thing I remember very prominently was “don’t worry: all will be well.”
Jess Netherlands sunrise
The sun will rise tomorrow!
Leave a Reply

