Grace and Joy

Letter from Zuster Faa 11-19-14:

Well we’re 1/2 done at the MTC! Wow. Again, the days feel like weeks and the weeks feel like days…:)

So for the past few years I have been sort of obsessed and fascinated with the idea and concept and act of “grace.” Nowadays, with grace I’ve realized comes “joy” — something I strive to find daily in my calling as a missionary. I love being happy. I love it. Satan just has a conniving way of making me unhappy with myself and what I am doing. But this week I have seen the Lord much more in everything. I love that, too.
Last night as I was trying to get to sleep, I was reading Alma 27. My head was bobbing and my eyes were drooping, but I needed to finish the chapter! I got to verse 17 and thought, “ok, I’ll finish the rest in the morning.” but then I got the feeling to reread verse 17 and end on 18. I wondered for a moment “what’s the point in that?” but was gently rebuked and felt again to reread 17 and 18. So I did. Verse 17 tells us of Ammon’s joy in seeing Alma again:
“Now the joy of Ammon was so great even that he was full; yea, he was swallowed up in the joy of his God, even to the exhausting of his strength; and he fell again to the earth.”
I read and reread this verse and couldn’t help but think, “Well I’M exhausted so….” but I pushed it away and sat up and read verse 18:
“Now was not this exceeding joy? Behold, this is joy which none receiveth save it be the truly penitent and humble seeker of happiness.”
I read and reread that verse and then laughed. Then I got out of bed and went to my knees and asked the Lord to forgive me for refusing to be as happy as I can and should be on the mission. I wrote the last phrase on a note-card and put it above my bed so that I’ll remember that I need humbly seek for happiness, not just expect the Lord to give it to me. 🙂 I can be happy. I should be happy. I will be happy. 😀
And, this week I received even more reason to be happy: S. Jones and I have been called as the zone Sister Training Leaders!
-14 new sisters come to the MTC today–8 for Sweden, 5 for Norway, and 1 for Denmark. We are so excited to welcome them and help them begin adjusting.
-7 sisters will be leaving for their mission fields Monday–3 to Sweden and 4 for Norway. I am glad that for the new sisters’ sakes, they will meet and learn a little from the sisters going to their same missions before they fly out.
-There are 11 “Dutchies” to add to all of those–so all in all S. Jones and I will have about 30 sisters in our zone to look after and help!
WOOT!
The work is pressing onward and I am getting antsy to be out of this MTC!!
2 Tim 2:3 – We are all fighting for this gospel that we know is true. We WILL win.
Herrinerin dat God houdt van ons en zult zijn hier als wij lopen tot Hem!
(very poor grammar, but hopefully Google Translate will help you understand!)
veel liefde,
Zuster Faa.
Dutch District @ temple
Leave a Reply

